

industry**awards 2024** 

It is that time of year again and SARTA is calling on you to nominate someone from your company for one of the following prestigious Industry Awards. It is a fantastic opportunity to recognise someone in your own industry that stands out from the crowd. The Awards will be presented at the Adelaide Convention Centre on Saturday 3rd August 2024 at SARTA's Annual Dinner.

The Awards are the:

- Jim Crawford Memorial Employee of the Year Award;
- The Kym Brennand Young Achiever of the Year Award;
- LS Booth Award for Outstanding Contribution to the SA Road Transport Industry

The recipients of the Awards will be nominated by SARTA for the National Awards and we have been successful on several occasions over the past few years.

SARTA is calling for nominations, from companies and/or individuals, under each category as listed above.

**So look around and see if there is someone in your company** that you would like to nominate for these prestigious Awards in recognition for their dedication and hard work within your company and the industry in general and submit a nomination.

The criteria for each category are:

#### Jim Crawford – Employee of the Year Award

**Criteria**: Nominees must be a full time employee of the nominating business. This Award is open to all categories of employees; including Staff in the Office, Warehouses, Workshops or Truck Drivers etc.

The nominee must:

- Be considered by the employer to be an excellent example to other employees;
- Demonstrate a commitment to high standards and to pursuing the best interests and objectives of their employer;
- Have contributed to the success of the business through innovation and/or sustained effort and application; and
- Have been an employee of the business for at least 5 years.

Nominations must describe how the employee is considered to meet each of the above criteria.

In addition, if the employee is a Heavy Vehicle Driver, they must possess:

- A good and responsible driving record;
- An outstanding record of and proven commitment to safety;
- At least seven years experience as a professional truck driver;
- A high degree of pride in both personal and vehicle presentation;
- A proven commitment to delivering customer satisfaction;
- A high degree of freight-handling skill and experience;
- A proven commitment to furthering the professional image of road transport within both the community and the industry itself; and
- A professional attitude towards their job and the industry as a whole.

### The Kym Brennand Young Achiever of the Year Award

(In Memory of Kym Brennand of MTU Detroit Diesel)

**Criteria:** The Young Achiever Award is open to employees who are up to 30 years of age.

The Nominee must:

- Be considered by the employer to be an excellent example to other employees;
- Demonstrate a commitment to high standards and to pursuing the best interests and objectives of their employer;
- Have contributed to the success of the business through innovation and/or sustained effort and application; and
- Have been an employee of the business for at least 3 years.

In Addition, if the employee is a mechanic, they must:

- Have a good work ethic and demonstrate pride in their work;
- Demonstrate a desire to continue to learn and develop their skills as a mechanic;
- Demonstrate a safe and responsible attitude to their work;
- Be considered to have significant potential for further development in their chosen path; and
- Demonstrate an appreciation of the important role they play within the safe operation of a professional trucking company.

The winner of the Young Achiever of the Year award will also be walking away with a cheque of **\$1000** donated by Penske Power Systems.

#### LS Booth Award for Outstanding Contribution to the SA Road Transport Industry Award

**Criteria**: Nominee must be an individual or a private/public sector organisation associated with the South Australian Road Transport Industry and must possess:

- A long-term industry background showing proven positive involvement within South Australian Road Transport;
- A history of achievement showing evidence of work which has benefited the industry;
- A selfless attitude, showing a commitment to road transport which has resulted in a degree of personal or organisational cost;
- The ability to show an individual's or organisation's contribution has impacted and improved road transport in South Australia; and
- A proven record (personal or organisational) of high integrity in relation to road transport.

Nominations must be lodged with the Executive Director of the South Australian Road Transport Association, Steve Shearer by Friday 12<sup>th</sup> JULY 2024

> Postal Address: 83 Wellington Street PORT ADELAIDE SA 5015 Email: <u>sarta@sarta.org.au</u>





# **NOMINATION FORM**

## Nominee Name: \_\_\_\_\_

Nominating Company: \_\_\_\_\_

Award: \_\_\_\_\_

Note: Nominations must address each of the above Criteria for the Relevant Award.

SA Road Transport Association - ABN: 54 728 832 614 Phone: (08) 8445 8177 Email: sarta@sarta.org.au Website: www.sarta.org.au 83 Wellington Street PORT ADELAIDE SA 5015